Barons of the Sea: And their Race to Build the World's Fastest Clipper Ship

The Maryland Historical Society is hosting a maritime talk October 10 with Steven Ujifusa, author of “Barons of the Sea: And their Race to Build the World's Fastest Clipper Ship.” Doors open at 5:30 p.m. The lecture starts at 6 pm, followed by a Q&A with the audience, and then a wine and cheese reception and book signing. Copies of “Barons of the Sea” will be available for purchase.

Lecture 6:00 PM, reception & book signing 7:00 PM

Presented by author Steven Ujifusa

Organized by the MdHS Maritime Committee

"Barons of the Sea" tells the story of a handful of cutthroat competitors who raced to build the fastest, finest, most profitable clipper ships to carry their precious cargo to American shores. When the United States was young, fortunes were made and lost importing luxury goods such as tea, silk, and porcelain from China. It was a secretive, glamorous, ugly business built off the profits of the opium trade. But the journey back home to New York from Canton could take six agonizing months—thus beginning the greatest technological battle of the age.

Author Steven Ujifusa’s previous book, "A Man and His Ship, was named one of the Top 10 Books of 2012 by the Wall Street Journal. His new book is in the tradition of David McCullough and Ron Chernow: a sweeping history of nineteenth-century American dynasties and the battle for dominance in tea and opium trading. The journey is jam-packed with decadence, scandal, intrigue, and a lot of recognizable names, including Forbes and Delano.

Elegantly written and meticulously researched, "Barons of the Sea" is a riveting tale of innovation and ingenuity that draws back the curtain on the making of some of the nation’s greatest fortunes, and the rise and fall of an all-American industry as sordid as it was genteel.

 
October 10, 2018 5:30 PM   through   7:30 PM